21 municipalities

An urban area with almost 500,000 inhabitants, the Charleroi and South Hainaut region displays surprising economic vitality and remarkable cultural dynamism. Located in Wallonia, one of the three regions that make up the Kingdom of Belgium, is consists of 21 communes. Once the cradle of the industrial revolution, the city of Charleroi, the largest metropolitan area in Wallonia, is the main centre of this innovative and entrepreneurial region.

Charleroi – South Hainaut: a land of welcome for your projects, a land of tourism and of culture, a land of excellence!

Our region is characterised by the high degree of complementarity between the northern part, the Charleroi region, which mainly consists of a very dense urban fabric, and the southern part, Thudinie and the Botte du Hainaut, which is a rural and tourist area. This area can now rely on undeniable assets and successes, such as several state-of-the-art business parks, research centres of international renown, the second-largest airport in Belgium, high-performance training centres, creative and avant-garde cultural institutions, well preserved tourist sites and a tangible and intangible heritage recognised by UNESCO.